Preliminary Test

I have been away on vacation, so not much has gotten done and I am heading out climbing this weekend so my progress will not be accelerating any time soon. But I am still plugging away at this and last night I did a little testing: I ran the wall without planks on.

IMG_20160627_212241
Second chain assembled and mounted. Test motor in place.

The motor and driver are borrowed off another project, so it won’t be quite the same on the final assembly. I am hoping to get away with a slightly smaller motor, which should be both cheaper and a little quieter. This one did produce a bit of a whine when running.

VID_20160628_211903_online-video-cutter
Success…. So far.

Sorry the video is a little shaky, I am holding down the “go” button way off to one side while holding my phone in the other.

I only tried a couple, slower speeds (up to ~8 fpm) but so far everything seems to be running smoothly. Top speed will, hopefully, be around three times faster. The motor bracket provided great alignment without any tweaking.

Leave a Reply

